TITLE | Tunnel Vision
ARTIST | Jonathan Uliel Saldanha
YEAR | 2016
FORMAT | 12" Vinyl + Digital

Listen here to "Train Tunnel / Crane Dub"


Tunnel Vision features compositions by Jonathan Uliel Saldanha, bringing together his multiple influences and collaborations into an interstitial realm of resonant spaces, generative choirs, gestual percussion and reminiscences of fanfarre music. This piece was recorded in tunnels and cavities found in and around the city of Porto, and was mixed as a dub record set for a soundsystem of the future, in a process that Saldanha refers to as Skull–Cave–Echo.

This record intercepts some of the sonic directions which characterise Saldanha’s body of work; from his solo and compositional pieces — like Khôrus Anima, a piece for mixed choird and empty factory, or Sancta Viscera Tua, peice for gesture, light, percussion, termites and choir — to his collaborative endeavours with HHY & The Macumbas ensemble or his Fujako duo.

Silo Rumor’s third release presents a series of pieces that make use of resonant spaces, sub-bass and a particular set of instruments interacting with disembodied voices. It is a re-edit and remastered version of the original soundtrack scored and recorded for the experimental sci-fi film Tunnel Vision, directed by Raz Mesinai and released on Tzadik DVD Series. This film comprised of shots taken on tunnels and subterraneans in a particular post-apocalitic hyper modernism was co-produced by John Zorn, who considerede it a “21st Century Cult Classic”.


01 Fanfare from the Resonating Concrete Entrance
02 Tunnel Vision
03 Ressurection of the Concrete Jungle
04 Train Tunnel/Crane Dub

05 Fanfare from the Resonating Geophone
06 Arca d’Água
07 Crystal Breath Autopoiesis


João Pais Filipe / Álvaro Almeida / Rui Leal / Gustavo Costa / Catarina Miranda / Jessika Kenney / Mike Ladd

Frédéric Alstadt at Ångstrom Studio — Brussels.

Distributed by Cargo UK